ParentFurther RSS Feeds

Syndicate content
Updated: 1 hour 12 min ago

Tip of the Day April 3

Sun, 2014-04-13 08:34

When life gets hard, be honest about it with your kids. The way you react to hardship teaches them a lot.

Tip of the Day April 2

Sat, 2014-04-12 08:30

Notice when your kids pull away from you. Find out why without invading their privacy.

Tip of the Day April 1

Fri, 2014-04-11 08:31

Consider April Fool’s Day to be a holiday to teach kids appropriate ways to pull harmless pranks, be silly, and enjoy themselves. Click here for simple tips for April Fool’s Day fun >>

Tip of the Day March 31

Thu, 2014-04-10 08:33

Remind your kids to do their homework and to do all of it well. More tips for school success >>

Tip of the Day March 30

Wed, 2014-04-09 08:32

Find ways to help your kids connect with your extended family: grandparents, cousins, aunts, uncles, and others. Tips for getting relatives involved >>

Tip of the Day March 29

Tue, 2014-04-08 08:34

Teach your kids how to make good decisions. Explain that making good decisions sometimes means changing your mind.

Tip of the Day March 28

Mon, 2014-04-07 08:30

When your rules differ from others, point it out to your child and explain why you have the rules that you do.

Tip of the Day March 27

Sun, 2014-04-06 08:32

Notice when your kids are empathetic. Point out that you like this, and encourage their empathy to grow.

Teaching Text-Obsessed Teen Drivers that "It Can Wait"

Sat, 2014-04-05 08:31

By: Kimberly Owens, Guest Blogger

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) reports that more than nine people are killed each day due to accidents caused by distracted driving, along with more than 1,000 others injured by simply not paying attention to the road.

Blog Image:  FiveStar Rating:  0

Tip of the Day March 26

Fri, 2014-04-04 08:31

When your kids get mad, help them to calm down. Then encourage them to say what made them mad and find solutions that work for them.

Tip of the Day March 25

Thu, 2014-04-03 08:33

Use cloth napkins instead of paper ones. Have each family member use a napkin ring that’s unique so you can use the napkins a few times between washings. More green family tips >>

Tip of the Day March 24

Wed, 2014-04-02 08:32

Get to know the parents of your kids’ friends. Find out what you have in common.

Tip of the Day March 23

Tue, 2014-04-01 08:32

Find youth activities that get your kids excited. Why balanced kids are happy kids >>

Tip of the Day March 22

Mon, 2014-03-31 08:31

Reflect on the good choices you’ve made as a parent. You’re doing a lot of things right.

How To Talk To Your Kids About Sex

Sun, 2014-03-30 08:33

By: Samantha MacDonald, Web & Social Media Specialist, ParentFurther

Did you know that March is National Talk to Your Teen about Sex Month? It is easier to talk to your kids about sex as they grow older if you consistently make conversations about healthy sexuality a regular part of your relationship.

Blog Image:  FiveStar Rating:  0

Tip of the Day March 21

Sat, 2014-03-29 08:31

Attend school events with your child. Develop a sense of school pride.

Tip of the Day March 20

Fri, 2014-03-28 08:34

Turn off the TV. Stop using the Internet so much. Spend some time as family—without technological gadgets.

Tip of the Day March 19

Thu, 2014-03-27 08:32

Listen to your kids and help them develop into who they’re meant to be.

Tip of the Day March 17

Wed, 2014-03-26 08:31

Self-care is important! Find someone to care for your kids from time to time so that you can take a break to do something for yourself.

Tip of the Day March 16

Wed, 2014-03-26 08:31

Stay in touch with extended family members. Find ways to connect even if someone is far away.