ParentFurther RSS Feeds

Syndicate content
Updated: 5 hours 19 min ago

Tip of the Day March 27

Sun, 2014-04-06 08:32

Notice when your kids are empathetic. Point out that you like this, and encourage their empathy to grow.

Teaching Text-Obsessed Teen Drivers that "It Can Wait"

Sat, 2014-04-05 08:31

By: Kimberly Owens, Guest Blogger

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) reports that more than nine people are killed each day due to accidents caused by distracted driving, along with more than 1,000 others injured by simply not paying attention to the road.

Blog Image:  FiveStar Rating:  0

Tip of the Day March 26

Fri, 2014-04-04 08:31

When your kids get mad, help them to calm down. Then encourage them to say what made them mad and find solutions that work for them.

Tip of the Day March 25

Thu, 2014-04-03 08:33

Use cloth napkins instead of paper ones. Have each family member use a napkin ring that’s unique so you can use the napkins a few times between washings. More green family tips >>

Tip of the Day March 24

Wed, 2014-04-02 08:32

Get to know the parents of your kids’ friends. Find out what you have in common.

Tip of the Day March 23

Tue, 2014-04-01 08:32

Find youth activities that get your kids excited. Why balanced kids are happy kids >>

Tip of the Day March 22

Mon, 2014-03-31 08:31

Reflect on the good choices you’ve made as a parent. You’re doing a lot of things right.

How To Talk To Your Kids About Sex

Sun, 2014-03-30 08:33

By: Samantha MacDonald, Web & Social Media Specialist, ParentFurther

Did you know that March is National Talk to Your Teen about Sex Month? It is easier to talk to your kids about sex as they grow older if you consistently make conversations about healthy sexuality a regular part of your relationship.

Blog Image:  FiveStar Rating:  0

Tip of the Day March 21

Sat, 2014-03-29 08:31

Attend school events with your child. Develop a sense of school pride.

Tip of the Day March 20

Fri, 2014-03-28 08:34

Turn off the TV. Stop using the Internet so much. Spend some time as family—without technological gadgets.

Tip of the Day March 19

Thu, 2014-03-27 08:32

Listen to your kids and help them develop into who they’re meant to be.

Tip of the Day March 17

Wed, 2014-03-26 08:31

Self-care is important! Find someone to care for your kids from time to time so that you can take a break to do something for yourself.

Tip of the Day March 16

Wed, 2014-03-26 08:31

Stay in touch with extended family members. Find ways to connect even if someone is far away.

Tip of the Day March 15

Tue, 2014-03-25 08:30

If you work outside the home, put up family photos and artwork that your kids make in your office.

Tip of the Day March 14

Mon, 2014-03-24 17:34

Monitor what your kids are watching on TV and online. Discuss what they’re viewing.

Tip of the Day March 13

Sun, 2014-03-23 17:34

When you get upset with your kids, stop and take deep breaths. Calm down before you decide what to do next.

Tip of the Day March 12

Sat, 2014-03-22 17:33

Help your child succeed in school by attending parent-teacher conferences and school events.

Tip of the Day March 11

Fri, 2014-03-21 17:31

Ask your child what he or she believes in most. Find out why.

Tip of the Day March 10

Fri, 2014-03-21 08:30

With your child, identify the adults he or she enjoys being with. Then find ways to support these friendships >>

Tip of the Day March 9

Thu, 2014-03-20 17:33

Practice ways your child can resist negative peer pressure. Here are some things for you to try >>