ParentFurther RSS Feeds

Syndicate content
Updated: 4 hours 12 min ago

Tip of the Day October 11

Tue, 2014-10-21 08:32

Point out when your child is making good decisions regarding friendships and positive choices.

Tip of the Day October 10

Mon, 2014-10-20 08:32

Allow young children to make simple choices, such as wearing black socks or red socks.

Tip of the Day October 9

Sun, 2014-10-19 08:31

Set aside one or two nights each week when all family members commit to not scheduling activities outside of the home.

Tip of the Day October 8

Sat, 2014-10-18 08:32

Avoid comparing your children with each other or with kids outside your family.

Tip of the Day October 7

Fri, 2014-10-17 08:33

Set clear limits on your children’s technology use, and make sure that your kids know the consequences for going over the limits.

Tip of the Day October 6

Thu, 2014-10-16 08:32

Ask your child what her or his goals are. Help your child think of how time spent on different activities helps or hinders efforts to reach those goals.

Tip of the Day October 5

Wed, 2014-10-15 08:34

Display your kids’ artwork in your home.

Tip of the Day October 4

Tue, 2014-10-14 08:30

Too often when we’re upset, we focus all of our energy on what we want to say, what we want to teach. Take time to listen to your child.

Tip of the Day October 3

Mon, 2014-10-13 08:35

Whenever you talk with other parents, be sure to tell them what you like about their kids.

Tip of the Day October 2

Sun, 2014-10-12 08:34

Set aside some informal time each day for your family to talk with no distractions, such as a family dinner.

Tip of the Day October 1

Sat, 2014-10-11 08:32

Create traditions with your kids and keep them.

Strategies for Setting Expectations: Insights from and for Parents

Fri, 2014-10-10 08:31

By: Dr. Gene Roehlkepartain

Setting expectations for our kids is an ongoing challenge for parents. On the one hand, it’s easy to communicate what we expect. Yet that doesn't necessarily go far enough.

Blog Image:  FiveStar Rating:  0

Tip of the Day September 30

Thu, 2014-10-09 08:34

Teach children to be responsible for their own behavior and to be considerate of others.

Tip of the Day September 29

Wed, 2014-10-08 08:30

Be firm and fair, taking care not to overreact when rules are broken. Keep in mind that appropriate, consistent consequences will teach your child to accept responsibility for her or his actions, while harsh punishment will most likely cause resentment.

Tip of the Day September 28

Tue, 2014-10-07 08:30

Encourage your kids to forgive others. Yes, they can still stand up for themselves, but a generous spirit is a forgiving spirit.

Tip of the Day September 27

Mon, 2014-10-06 08:31

Remember your goal and purpose: you want to raise a child who succeeds in life. Knowing where you’re headed often helps you deal with the day-to-day routine.

Tip of the Day September 26

Sun, 2014-10-05 08:31

Help your children find inspirational, positive role models.

Tip of the Day September 25

Sat, 2014-10-04 08:33

When a disagreement occurs, work through only that problem. Don’t pull in other issues that may be bothering you.

Tip of the Day September 24

Fri, 2014-10-03 08:31

Encourage an older sibling to mentor a younger sibling in something they know how to, like reading, learning left from right, or basic math. Compliment their work together, both learning and teaching.

Tip of the Day September 23

Thu, 2014-10-02 08:33

If you are angry or frustrated with your child try lowering your voice—speak quietly and slowly and in a quiet place. Lowering your temperature will help lower theirs.